Banana Bread

For admitting that I much prefer cooking to baking, I am not doing well statistically with my posts as this is another baking post!

Banana bread is one of my favourites. My dad always made it when we were growing up.

This recipe comes from a cookbook lent to me by a friend, Apples to Jam, by Tessa Kiros. I’d describe her recipes as very homey and family-friendly. Unfortunately, the recipe isn’t available online.

This banana bread is easy to make and very delicious. I tweaked it slightly by using plain sugar instead of brown, no vanilla, and adding chocolate pieces. I have not yet been able to find real brown sugar here. I know it exists in some Asian and specialty shops, but I haven’t seen it – maybe I’m not looking hard enough. You can make your own using molasses and regular sugar, but I haven’t done that either. For this recipe, however, I don’t think it matters a great deal. The same with the vanilla — very difficult to find here (vanilla sugared powder exists, but I don’t think it would add much to this recipe). For the chocolate “pieces,” I just use a Ritter Sport plain chocolate and chop it up.

Most of the ingredients for the bread - sugar, baking soda (a bit difficult to find here), flour, eggs, baking powder, butter, chocolate and of course bananas! Missing is cinnamon and milk.
Finished bread!
4 thoughts on “Banana Bread

  1. H Tee 25/03/2011 / 1:39 pm

    It looks awesome. Yumyumyum. 🙂

  2. H Tee 25/03/2011 / 1:43 pm

    And it tastes awesome, too. 😮

  3. Karin 04/04/2011 / 2:38 pm

    I ❤ Tessa Kiros!! 😀

Leave a Reply

