Sweet Potato Fries w/ Blue Cheese & Buttermilk Dressing

If you like sweet potatoes, you will love these. The recipe is from a cooking blog I recently discovered called Pinch My Salt.

They are quite easy to make. First of all, you cut up the potatoes (I used 2, one per person) into “fry” slices, and then coat them in a mixture of olive oil, thyme (recipe says rosemary but I used thyme instead), garlic, and salt & pepper before cooking for around 15 minutes. It is extremely easy to overcook/burn sweet potatoes so you really have to keep an eye on them. As you can see from the picture, a few of them were charred. I actually don’t mind that and in some cases actually like mildly charred food (maybe because I’m 75% Scottish?!).

The dressing that accompanied them in the recipe was Buttermilk and Blue Cheese, and I decided to give it a go. If I make the fries again (and I probably will), I will skip out on the dressing next time. It was tasty, but not overly impressive, and 1/2 of us thought it was too overpowering due to the blue cheese (not me!).

We had the fries with braised beef in a red wine sauce (which I won’t comment on since I am not the one who made it!). All in all, a very good meal.

Fries with sauce
Leave a Reply

