Mushroom Risotto

I haven’t been posting as frequent recently due to 1)work getting much busier and 2)family (my sister) visiting! Nevertheless, here’s something I made a week and a half ago.

I’d been wanting to try a risotto for a while, and I love mushrooms, so this seemed like a good match. This recipe came from Bon Appetit magazine but is also available online here.

Having never made a risotto before, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. It’s not hard though. First, you sautee the mushrooms in batches, and then start on the rice. Halfway through adding broth to the risotto, the mushrooms are added. The end result was very tasty (even the skeptic liked it!), however the texture was off: it was a bit gooey/pasty. I think this is because I cooked it a bit too long, but I’m not 100% sure. I need to experiment with future risottos to know exactly when to stop cooking it.

Sauteed mushrooms.
Risotto mid-stirring.
Finished product.
3 thoughts on “Mushroom Risotto

  1. Karin 17/05/2011 / 1:48 pm

    Looks like you made the risotto in a wok. Did you really? I find risotto a lot of hard work; constant stirring for almost an hour. Worst mistake: adding cheese at beginning. Then I really had to stir! But I love sautéed mushrooms (great pic, BTW), so I must try this.

  2. saturdayedition 17/05/2011 / 2:05 pm

    Hi Karin. No, I didn’t use a wok! It was a pot though, not a frying pan, as I thought the pan wouldn’t be big enough. Do you think that was a mistake?

Leave a Reply

