Yogurt, Peach and Almond Cake

Cakes are definitely not my specialty, in terms of both eating and making them. Over the years I have developed a real dislike for overly-sweet desserts. The thought of sickly-sweet chocolate cake makes my stomach turn. I DO however like certain cakes and pies (cheesecake is an example!) that are not as sweet, and especially ones that have fruit in them. That’s part of the reason why I was attracted to this recipe. The combination of fruit and cake tends to work really well. I have also been eating a lot of plain yogurt lately (usually in the morning with homemade granola – yum :)), so I had that on hand and it seemed like a good fit.

The recipe comes from a book by Australian chef Bill Granger. I’d never heard of him before I borrowed one of his cookbooks from a friend. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find this particular recipe online, but there are some others of his available here.

The cake isn’t difficult to make. You simply mix all of the ingredients together, pour it in a pan, and sprinkle it with almonds. Then it bakes for an hour and a half and voila. Special thanks to my boyfriend, who cycled into the city and bought a new cake pan (the old one just wasn’t working) while I was preparing the batter! Overall, the cake turned out really well and is definitely something I would make again.

Yogurt, Peach & Almond Cake
One thought on “Yogurt, Peach and Almond Cake

  1. The Bear 30/05/2011 / 6:51 pm

    Looks good!! Sadly I could not eat it… But I am sure it was tasty

    I, on the other hand, love sickly sweet chocolate cakes.

Leave a Reply

