Canada Day/Tomato & Dill Soup

First of all, Happy Canada Day! July 1st is our national holiday. This is the third year in a row I have spent it outside of the country, but the pride is very much still in tact.
Our fair Dominion now extends
From Cape Race to Nootka Sound;
May peace forever be our lot,
And plenteous store abound:
And may those ties of love be ours
Which discord cannot sever,
And flourish green o’er freedom’s home
The Maple Leaf forever!

(From The Maple Leaf Forever by Alexander Muir; bagpipe version on Youtube here.)

It’s been a while since my last post. What can I say, life gets in the way! Truthfully, I’ve been very busy with work and was also struck down with a nasty cold/flu bug, so I haven’t been in the kitchen as much. However, except a bunch (batch?) of posts coming soon. I have decided not to apologize for gaps in updating. I created this blog to share what I cook and when. Sometimes I cook a lot and sometimes I don’t. Blogging ‘guilt’ is a popular topic in metablogging blogs (i.e. blogging about blogging) and it is something that I am not going to have with this site!

I’ve also found myself re-making many of the dishes I’ve already posted, which is fantastic, except it hardly makes for good updating material. I recently made peanut soup again, which was just as delicious as the first batch. I made a loaf of banana bread this afternoon and we are going for round 2 on fajitas tonight (hoping for a better version!). Plus, we almost always have kisir and granola on hand in the flat.

Anyway, onto the soup!

Normally I associate soup with fall or winter. Who knows what season we’re in at the moment here in Germany! One day it is 30 degrees, the next 12. However I still think hot soups can be really enjoyable in the summer. I was looking for a quick and easy soup and settled on tomato. The recipe is loosely based on this one @ Epicurious. It is inspired by a soup of the same name at one of my favourite cafes in Halifax, the Paper Chase. I used to have cravings for this soup (as well as their avocado and feta pizza) and would order it on my lunch break at work.

It is extremely easy to make: add garlic to warmed oil/butter in a pot, followed by the already scaled & peeled tomatoes, stock, and spices. Simply let simmer for 30 minutes, puree, and add a bit of cream (I used rahmjoghurt which means cream-yogurt literally — the variety of milk products available here still amazes me). I was a bit heavy-handed with the dill, but I don’t have a problem with that. Overall, very satisfying!

Tomato & dill soup
Leave a Reply

