Soda Bread

Although I haven’t made a lot of bread in my life, I have come to really enjoy it. There are few things more comforting than making your own bread!

This recipe is from my new cookbook, but I had it bookmaked long before I bought the book. It attracted me because of its simplicity, and it did not disappoint. It’s called soda bread because its leavening agent is baking soda, not yeast. Fortunately, baking soda is available in the “Feinkost” (imported/foreign foods) section of our local supermarket! (Who knows why it is not common here). Unlike other breads I’ve made in the past, this one requires no rising time and minimal kneading, which means it can be made quickly and in a pinch. I made the first loaf last weekend, and then yesterday made two more in anticipation of guests we have this weekend (my boyfriend’s parents).

The ingredients are very simple: 500g flour, 400ml buttermilk or yogurt, salt, and baking soda. I really like this bread. It’s moist and has a really good taste and goes with just about anything — butter, jam, cheese, dipped in soup, etc.
Flour side note: the recipe calls for plain white flour, which I used the first time I made it. The second time around, I tried an experiment and made one loaf with white and the other half white, half bauern-mehl, which has 5% rye. The effect is a slightly heartier loaf but still very tasty.

Loaf
Loaf 2
7 thoughts on “Soda Bread

  1. Karin 08/07/2011 / 1:52 pm

    For baking soda, try asking for bicarbonate of soda at the pharmacy: Natron. They may sell it at the hardware store as doppelt kohlensures Natrium or Natriumbikarbonat.

    PS . This forum could be a useful source of info for you.

    I remember Mum had a heck of a time trying to buy baking powder in France.

  2. Karin 08/07/2011 / 2:38 pm

    Of course you did find some at the grocery store. What I meant was it might be cheaper if you didn’t have to get it as a gourmet import.

  3. saturdayedition 09/07/2011 / 6:22 pm

    Fortunately this stuff didn’t have quite as much markup as other foreign products (otherwise I wouldn’t have bought it!). Great tip though. It’s probably much cheaper at a pharmacy. Which forum do you mean? There is a great forum for expats in DE called Toytown – I’m on there daily!

  4. Anonymous 12/07/2011 / 11:15 am

    I totally wanna make this bread!! 😀

    • Anonymous 12/07/2011 / 11:16 am

      Oh, I didn’t wanna come up as anonymous – sorry!! It’s me, the ‘other Karin’ LOL

  5. saturdayedition 13/07/2011 / 7:13 pm

    The Karins are the most frequent commentators! Karin H, you should definitely make this. It’s SO easy (+ delicious).

Leave a Reply

