Blackberry Buttermilk Cake

Those that live on Digby Neck are spoiled in many ways. One of them is berries: raspberries, blueberries, blackberries, and probably some I’m forgetting or don’t know of. I am a berry fiend — I just love them. We happen(ed) to be here in blackberry season, where they’re literally hanging off the tree, just begging to be picked. So pick we did, and then we made a cake!

After searching, I came across this recipe on Epicurious, from the July 2011 edition of Bon Appetit. It was a very easy cake to make, with very good results as well. I followed the recipe fairly exactly, omitting the orange zest and vanilla as I didn’t have them, and replacing the buttermilk with half cream, half milk and adding a little lemon juice (it works just as well). The cake is lovely and moist, which in my mind is essential for a berry cake.

Stay tuned for another blackberry recipe!

Leave a Reply

