Chicken Stock

First things first: please be patient with me in the next few weeks as I make some design changes to this blog. I’ve purchased an upgrade, meaning I’m able to custom design many elements that were previously set. It involves becoming familiar with CSS (Grade 10 computer science seems like a long time ago), so the changes won’t be immediate.

Onto the subject of this post. Making chicken stock isn’t really cooking, but I thought I’d include it anyway. After our chicken extravaganza that lasted many days, I was reading another recipe (a risotto – coming soon) and it required chicken stock. I didn’t have any cubes, but what I did still have was the chicken carcass, so I decided to make it on my own.

Making stock is very easy: it is essentially water and chicken remnants boiled for many hours, plus whatever additions you want to add. I looked at a few various recipes and added carrots, onions, garlic, parsley, rosemary, and salt and pepper. (For a sample recipe, see Jamie Oliver’s here).

I do have pictures of the process, but they didn’t turn out well, so I’ll have to leave it to your imaginations (plus, pictures of stock aren’t terribly exciting anyway!).

Leave a Reply

