Tomato Bruschetta

I’m writing this on a glorious summer-ish fall day here in Germany. The temperatures have been in the mid-twenties ever since we’ve been back, which has been fantastic. It makes writing about summer and summer food so much easier!

This snack came about at the same dinner party that I wrote about in the stuffed mushrooms post. They were the second appetizer on hand (and the only vegan one, as my uncle is vegan). I wanted to use something with tomatoes as we had bowl after bowl full of lovely, ripe tomatoes from the garden.

The recipe comes from Epicurious and is a fairly straightforward bruschetta. The most time consuming part is chopping the tomatoes, but once that’s done, you add garlic, herbs, lemon juice, and spices, and you’re finished. With the garlic, tomatoes and herbs all coming fresh from the garden, this is absolutely delicious. I could eat it as a meal on its own.

I used baguette bread, which incidentally in the picture looks very uncooked, but it didn’t brown up much in the oven.

I made the bruschetta again the next day for the garden party, the weekly summer get-together in Sandy Cove, and it was a hit. This time I put a little cheese on them, even though it’s not traditional.

NB: most of the tomatoes I used are yellow –they’re not unripe red ones!

I’m a bit behind on updating the blog, so be patient with me. Lots of yummy stuff to come.

Leave a Reply

