Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

This is the last post I am writing on food I made during the six weeks I was back in Canada. 😦 It really was a wonderful time and even though we were moving around a lot, I got lots of opportunities to cook.

I made these on our last week. H. and I hosted a BBQ at my parents’ house for two of my very good friends. We had hamburgers, sausages, couscous and spinach salads, and these little treats for dessert!

The recipe, essentially homemade Reece’s Pieces cups, caught my eye in the previous week’s Saturday Globe and Mail. It’s from Michael Smith, a PEI chef who I really like. It looked easy, and required very few ingredients, so I thought I’d give it a try!

I underestimated the finer points of making these, namely “painting” the muffin sheets, filling them, and then covering them with the chocolate seal (and that is the entire process right there — haha). The result was much more haphazard than I would’ve liked, but fortunately my audience wasn’t aesthetically critical. 😉

I liked these, but probably wouldn’t make them again, for the following reasons: 1. Very awkward and fiddly to make; 2. They were very rich (although, really, what did I expect!); 3. The filling had too much of a cream cheese taste for my liking (this can of course be adjusted though); and 4. They were difficult to eat (the chocolate was very hard, and the peanut butter very soft).

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

  1. Anonymous 31/10/2011 / 1:10 am

    Love those place mats, where can I get some

  2. K.M. 02/11/2011 / 12:33 pm

    Hahahahahaha!

Leave a Reply

