Mushroom, Olive Oil, & Goat Cheese Risotto

I’m posting this on the back of a very recent risotto post, but oh well.

H. and I had friends over for dinner a couple of weeks ago and I made this dish. The recipe is another from Craig Flinn’s Fresh and Local. It was definitely a hit (or at least I hope they weren’t lying! ๐Ÿ˜‰ It’s a good sign if you’re asked for the recipe I guess).

I wanted something that wasn’t too time consuming and also easy to plan (since timing when cooking is not my greatest strength). This is a fairly straightforward risotto, with one major exception: the mushrooms are soaked in olive oil and baked at a very low temperature (100 C) for 3 hours beforehand. Since I was working from home this day, this was possible. Otherwise, the risotto is made as normal, which takes about 15-18 minutes, and in this case, instead of adding Parmesan at the end, you add goat cheese. Just before serving, you spoon the mushrooms (drained from their oil) over top.

The result was a very tasty and (unsurprisingly) very rich risotto. NB: There was a lot of excess oil left over, and I ended up saving it and using it for other things since it seemed a shame to waste it.

Unfortunately I forgot to take a photo of this dish, but it looked pretty similar to this.

2 thoughts on “Mushroom, Olive Oil, & Goat Cheese Risotto

  1. Karin 23/11/2011 / 4:04 pm

    It was amazing…thanks again!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. K.M. 25/11/2011 / 8:58 pm

    You’re very welcome…. gern geschehen!

Leave a Reply

