Corn & Coconut Soup

Well, fall is definitely the time for soup making and I seem to be making a lot of soup lately.

I got this recipe from a book called Home Made, by Tana Ramsay, Gordon Ramsay’s wife (another book lent to me by my colleague). A soup with corn and carrots as its main ingredients wouldn’t normally tempt me, but this one sounded intriguing with the base of coconut milk. I was not disappointed. The soup was incredibly easy to make: sautee garlic [and onions] in a pot; add 2 large chopped up carrots; add corn, 400mL coconut milk, 400mL milk; and let simmer for ~25 minutes before pureeing and seasoning. It was a very tasty soup — the combination was sweet (in a vegetable way), and I didn’t puree it fully on purpose to keep a bit of the crunch of the corn. (Plus a great colour as well!)

Soup simmering
Finished soup.
Leave a Reply

