Egyptian Red Lentil Soup

If you’d put lentil soup down in front of me even 5 years ago, I probably would have eaten it, but grudgingly. Lentil soup was something my extremely health-conscious dad made when I was growing up (and still does) and I sort of always dismissed it as uber-healthy and thus probably bland. Well, how times have changed!

The recipe appeared one day in my GoogleReader and truth be told, I was attracted to the beautiful photos first. Aside from that, the soup looked very healthy and easy to make, so I decided to give it a go.

The only way that I really changed things was by adding more liquid. The original calls for 3 cups of stock (approx. 750mL), but the lentils absorbed that very quickly, so I added at least another cup of water. As you can see from my photo, the soup was still very thick, a bit too think, but the taste was still pleasing: subtle, slightly sweet from the carrots, and just enough kick with the garlic and spices.

Leave a Reply

