Risotto with Pine Nuts & Roasted Mushrooms

While in Bolzano in December, I bought a huge sack of Arborio rice. I’ve made a few risottos so far (repeat recipes), and still have at least one more to go to use up the rice.

Like the spicy curry soup that I made recently, this recipe also comes from LCBO’s Food & Drink magazine.

The first step of this risotto is to roast the diced sweet potato and mushrooms. The recipe says to do that for 50-60 minutes at 200C. I thought it seemed long when I read the recipe, and I was right. It was WAY too long. They could’ve easily come out at half of that. Fortunately H. was paying attention (I was on a Skype call with western Canada!) and took them out after about 30 minutes. They were still overdone, but edible. After that’s done, a bit of pancetta (in my case bacon) is fried in a pan, and after it’s finished and taken out, the rice is added. The risotto is fairly straightforward from here: adding first white wine and then stock and a pinch of thyme, and stirring until the rice is cooked. While the risotto cooked, I roasted 25g of pine nuts in the oven. After it’s finished, you mix the pancetta, mushrooms, and sweet potatoes back in, as well as some Parmesan cheese {recipe calls for Pecorino Romano which is definitely a better option}, and sprinkle on the pine nuts.

This had the potential to be very delicious, but the overcooked mushrooms and sweet potatoes was the downfall for me (although H. really liked them). It gave the whole thing a smoky and charred aftertaste which was not to my liking.

Leave a Reply

