Cashew Nut Chicken

My Thai cookbook gets a lot of use (evidenced by the pages’ many splatters), but mostly for old favourites like pad Thai and chicken in Thai green curry. In an effort to try something new, I decided to make cashew nut chicken one night last week. I chose it because the ingredients for this dish are relatively straightforward; I had everything except the cashews and an orange.

Here’s how to make it:

  1.  Prep by cutting chicken into bite-size pieces and an orange into 1/2 cm chunks.
  2. Heat 3 tbsp vegetable oil on high heat, and then add 1 tsp chopped garlic and stir fry for ~30 seconds. Add chicken and 1 tbsp soya sauce.
  3. Once the chicken has cooked a bit, add 1 tsp lime juice, orange chunks, 2 tbsp chili paste (I used chili flakes), and then 2/3 cup (~150g) cashews. Stir all together until the chicken has cooked through, and enjoy!

My only criticism: next time, I will peel the oranges. The recipe says to leave on the skin, which I thought was a little strange, and it proved tricky to eat.

I have not been disappointed by any of the recipes in the cookbook, and this chicken dish followed the same pattern. I’m not usually a big fan of citrus-y flavours paired with meat, but I have to say this was delicious and something I will definitely make again.


Chicken in wok.


Finished product: cashew chicken served over rice.

Stayed tuned for a new tofu soup from the same book.

2 thoughts on “Cashew Nut Chicken

  1. Jaimie Kidston 15/03/2012 / 5:34 pm

    Wow, that sounds good – I love cashew chicken at Chinese restaurants, but worry about the amount of grease. I will definitely try this one! Thanks Kate!

    • K.M. 15/03/2012 / 8:00 pm

      I hope you like it Jaimie! I have never had it at a Chinese restaurant, so I can’t compare, but this one is good (and easy too!).

Leave a Reply

