Red Wine Risotto with Mascarpone

This dish is for people who love simple risottos and for people who love cooking with wine. I happen to fall into both categories. I stumbled upon the recipe on the Telegraph’s website — who knew.

The preparation is simple and similar to any other risotto. Instead of a bit of wine and a lot of stock to cook the rice, this uses a bit of stock and a lot of wine. I did alter things a bit: I used about half the butter it called for, and instead of a full bottle of wine, I used about 2/3 – 3/4 of the bottle.

This risotto is excellent: it’s instant pure decadence and indulgence, thanks mostly to the mascarpone, which adds a gorgeous, creamy taste. It is obviously not something I would eat all of the time but as a treat it’s lovely. I would happily pay for at a restaurant and have the same reaction!


(CHEESE, not butter)

Leave a Reply

