Rhubarb Crisp

Rhubarb is in general not my favourite fruit, but I do love a nice rhubarb crisp at this time of the year. When I came across the recipe in Lucy Waverman’s A Year in Lucy’s Kitchen (recipe unfortunately not available online, but for more of Lucy’s rhubarb recipes see here here), I decided I had to try it.

I had about 8 cups of rhubarb, which was not really enough, but I made do with what I had (the recipe calls for 1.5 lbs or 750g). Lucy’s recipe calls for pistachios mixed in as part of the topping, but I did not have any; instead, I used walnuts, which worked fine. Its made by combining the rhubarb with sugar (calls for 3/4 of a cup but I did not put that much in), a bit of ginger, and 2 tbsp butter. The topping is 1 cup flour, 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1/2 cup brown sugar (again I lessened this a bit), 1/2 cup pistachios (I used walnuts), 1/4 tsp ground ginger, a pinch of salt, and 3/4 cup of butter. Bake for 30-35 minutes at 350 degrees F, and it’s done.

The only flaw in this otherwise very good crisp was that the top could’ve been crispier. The butter was not warm/soft enough and thus didn’t spread out as well. I knew the butter had to be room temperature but I didn’t take it out early enough. Other than that, it was a perfect spring dessert.

The one picture I managed to snap was not very good and didn’t do it justice, so I’m not going to post it.

Leave a Reply

