Rosemary Gin Fizz

It’s a rainy Saturday but that’s not stopping me from posting a new summer drink I’ve discovered!

If you know me well, you know that I love a good gin and tonic. I don’t drink cocktails very often, but this is the one thing that I do really enjoy.

I found this drink on a website called Gojee, which, despite the odd name, is quite the cool site. It allows you to input ingredients you have on hand and then find a recipe to match. They also send out two weekly emails with the week’s top food and drink recipes, which is where I found this one.

I don’t like cocktails that are complicated and fussy so this really appealed to me (plus, those same ones also tend to use a lot of ingredients that you only use for that particular drink, which is expensive to build up and not suitable for our temporary living situation at the moment). The only requirement is that you have to make the rosemary syrup. To do this, you boil 2 cups (500 mL) water with about 1/2 a cup of sugar (I used less) along with 4 big sprigs of rosemary. Let that simmer for about 2 minutes, remove from heat, and then let stand for 10 minutes, and then strain. This makes a LOT of syrup and I could’ve easy halved or thirded the recipe.

After that, mix:

  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon rosemary syrup
  • Tonic
  • Gin
  • 1 rosemary sprig, for garnish

Another drink that I’ve concocted lately is a gin and tonic with a big dose of lime lime juice and a few blackberries dropped in.

Leave a Reply

