Portobello Mushrooms with Avocado Carpaccio

When Friday evening hits, I am usually not in the mood to cook anything elaborate. H. and I threw together this little meal about a week ago, which was the perfect late spring/early summer (it’s trying!) relaxed and easy Friday meal:

  • Roasted portobello mushrooms
  • Avocado “carpaccio”
  • (Store-bought) calamari

I’d seen portobello mushrooms on sale earlier in the day, and I’d planned to grill them on the BBQ, but it was a bit too chilly. Instead I searched and followed this recipe. The mushrooms were super easy to make and really tasty. I even forgot to put the Parmesan on at the end, and they still turned out well. I halved the recipe as we only had two instead of four. It’s hard to believe that such a flavourful mushroom is made out of so few ingredients: balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and thyme {I used rosemary}, salt, and pepper.

The avocado carpaccio is my new obsession and it could be any easier: slice and avocado (there is a very good way to do it here), and dress with sea salt and lemon juice! Voila. If you like avocados you will love this — simple, and sooo tasty.

Leave a Reply

