Tomato & Coconut Shrimp Curry with Cilantro Yogurt

Lately I’ve been loving the blog Love and Lemons. It is visually stunning, the perfect mix of pretty, functional, and clean-lined, and the content is fantastic; it is exactly the type of food I like to eat.

As soon as I saw this post I knew I had to try it. It’s the type of evening meal that I like to make after a long day {insert cliche phrase here} at the office, and the ingredients are the type of stuff I usually have on hand. I made it recently for my sister (visiting from the UK), grandfather, and boyfriend.

The dish is a two step process: 1)Make the cilantro yogurt and then 2)the curry. It’s a little time-consuming, but worth it. The yogurt is an integral part of the dish (see why below). People tend to either love or hate cilantro (I’ve read that it’s genetic) and I definitely fall into the former group. I love both its taste and smell and I use it as much as I can.

Aside from measuring out all of the spices, nothing about the curry is particularly cumbersome. Saute onions, add garlic & spices, then tomatoes and coconut milk, and simmer. If the recipe is sounding familiar to you, it is similar to chicken and tomato curry with cardamom yogurt that I’ve made before (also from the same blog).

I found this curry on its own, sans yogurt, to be a little bland. My sister, who can’t eat any dairy products, agreed. It needed more heat and it could’ve simmered longer. With the addition of the yogurt, however, it was really tasty.

The recipe made enough for 3 good portions plus my lunch the next day.

Leave a Reply

