Clam Chowder

My first ever homemade chowder, I’m pleased to report, was a success.

I didn’t use fresh clams, which was obviously not ideal, but I still think it works with canned. The recipe calls for 2 cups (about 500 mL) of clam juice. I didn’t get that much from the cans, so I substituted with a bit more milk and some water. I don’t like celery, so omitted that, but included the corn, carrots, and potatoes.

I found at the end that the chowder was a bit bland, so seasoned generously and added more thyme as well. This wasn’t knock your socks off chowder, but for a weekday evening attempt, pretty good.

Leave a Reply

