Sweet Potato Soup with Cilantro Yogurt

This is an easy, straightforward soup to make and it’s perfect for chilly fall days.

I made this for lunch two Sundays ago. I had a very large sweet potato that needed to be used up, and went in search of an easy soup to make. The recipe I ended up using comes from The Best of Chef at Home, which was the first cookbook I ever owned (given to me by my dad) and is one I turn to time and again.

I did modify it quite a bit – instead of a chipotle pepper, I used dried red pepper flakes, which worked fine, but missed the smokiness of the chipotle. The recipe calls for a topping of sour cream with cilantro, but in the absence of sour cream, I improvised with a yogurt & lemon version of the divine cilantro mayo.

Sweet potato soup topped with cilantro and cilantro-lemon yogurt
Leave a Reply

