Roasted Parsnip Soup

Lately, I have been thinking a lot more carefully and consciously about the food I eat. There are a variety of reasons behind this: the availability and sustainability of food* (which somehow seems so much more pronounced in huge, packed supermarkets); wanting to eat more of what is in season; healthy eating; and thriftiness, since if nothing else, living in London is sehr teuer: expensive. I made a list of foods I want to start eating more of (and yes, if you know me well you’ll know that I actually did write it down!), and root vegetables, which parsnips are, happened to be one of them.

Parsnips are, to me, a delicious, sweeter carrot. I got the original idea for the soup from this post on the British Larder (scroll down). With only six ingredients, this is really easy to make and lives up to expectations in terms of flavour. Instead of sauteing I roasted the parsnips (dangerous: I could’ve eaten them all as soon as they came out of the oven). In the absence of pheasant stock(!), I used chicken. Note: since the soup is quite thick, I’d recommend using at least 750ml of stock (or even more), not 650 as the recipe suggests.

Topped with a little Parmesan cheese, this soup is creamy, rich, and delicious. We were both very full after eating a bowl. I will definitely be making it again but will experiment with a slightly healthier version using milk instead of cream.

*Side note: For anyone interested, Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall‘s cookbooks are great sources of information on sustainable British food.

Parsnip soup topped with Parmesan
Leave a Reply

