Roasted Tomato & Eggplant Soup

It is definitely soup season, so I apologize to anyone who reads this and doesn’t like soups — they’re going to be featured a lot in the coming months.

This soup comes from Martha Stewart, wich is not exactly the hippest form of foodie inspiration, but dependable nonetheless. I really liked the Everyday Food Magazine before it transformed into its current online form.

I thought this soup would make a great Sunday lunch, but it was just okay — nothing to write home about. Neither the eggplant nor the tomatoes really ‘shone’ and the soup was plainer than I thought. The chickpeas were a definite welcomed change in texture.

Veggies

Sunday morning sun

Finished soup

3 thoughts on “Roasted Tomato & Eggplant Soup

  1. Jaimie Kidston 03/12/2012 / 1:53 am

    This is a Martha Stewart recipe… Kate says it’s plainer than she expected… but perhaps with a few more spices?

    _____________ Jaimie Kidston

    ________________________________

  2. Jaimie Kidston 03/12/2012 / 1:54 am

    Whoops, sorry Kate! I have a friend who likes your recipes but is not very computer literate (so she hasn’t “followed” your blog) – so I forward the ones I think she’ll like!

    Hope your adventures in London are going well! I just got back from a long weekend with horses so am just checking emails then going to bed! Jaimie

    _____________ Jaimie Kidston

    ________________________________

    • K.M. 03/12/2012 / 2:29 pm

      Haha! That is funny – I am pleased that someone is finding my posts useful though! 🙂 The commenting on WordPress is not straightforward. I’ve tried to simplify it via the settings so that you don’t have to leave an email address but they don’t make it easy.

      I agree with you – more spices perhaps, or maybe better-quality produce (I find tomatoes taste bland a lot of the time, even organic ones from farmers’ markets, and they’re not in season now). I would also consider adding coconut milk, even just half a cup might give it a thicker texture and smoother taste.

Leave a Reply

