Cauliflower Fritters with Lime Yogurt

After becoming introduced to the world of Ottolenghi last winter, I asked for one of his cookbooks for my birthday in May. The book sat around all summer in Nova Scotia, taunting me with its stunning collection of inspiration, but waiting patiently to be used. Well, I finally got around to trying something from it about a month ago (I am behind with my posts!), and it was well worth the wait.

These cauliflower fritters (almost pakora-like) are addictive. I made them two nights in a row and in my opinion they could convert even the biggest cauliflower haters out there.

Here’s how to make them:

  1. Cut up a small-ish cauliflower (about 320g) into florets and boil until soft.
  2. Meanwhile, prepare the other elements: mix together 120g flour, 3 tbsp parsley, 1 clove of garlic, 2 shallots, 4 eggs, spices (1.5 tsp cumin, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp turmeric), plus 1.5 tsp salt & 1 tsp black pepper). Once the cauliflower is soft, drain and combine into the mixture.
  3. Spoon 2-3 large tablespoons per fritter and fry in batches (use a generous amount of sunflower/vegetable oil but make sure to drain the fritters on paper towel before eating).
  4. Serve with lime and coriander yogurt: mix Greek yogurt, chopped coriander, lime zest, lime juice, olive oil, and salt and pepper.

Paired with a simple salad (Ottolenghi’s recommendation and I agree – I had spinach), this is the perfect meal. I halved the recipe and it still made more than enough for one person as they are quite filling.

Leave a Reply

