Harissa & Buttermilk Baked Chicken with Rice & Chickpeas

This chicken dish is very healthy and a great weeknight option.

The original recipe (from delicious magazine) is for 4 people, so I halved it. I only put in about 3/4 of a teaspoon of harissa paste, and could have done with more – it was spicy, but could have withstood more heat. Other than that, I followed the recipe fairly exactly, with the exception of the couscous, which totally failed! I used giant couscous as it was all I had on hand, and it turned out sticky, pasty, and generally looked horrible. At the last minute I improvised used brown wholegrain rice mixed in with the chickpeas which I think worked just as well.

While this dish did not ‘blow me away’ we both enjoyed it and it’s definitely something I would make again.

DSC_1161

4 thoughts on “Harissa & Buttermilk Baked Chicken with Rice & Chickpeas

  1. MC2 16/02/2013 / 7:22 pm

    I didn’t see this post before.. Interesting how different ours look. The giant coucous almost looks like risotto, I really enjoyed the wholewheat couscous. I had leftovers for lunch a few days, really satisfying!!

    • K.M. 16/02/2013 / 7:28 pm

      Oops didn’t show up as a response, see above

  2. K.M. 16/02/2013 / 7:28 pm

    It’s not, the giant couscous failed, it *is* rice (brown rice). I forgot the carrot in mine! Yours looks better I think.

  3. MC2 16/02/2013 / 7:30 pm

    I did use chicken thighs and I think they probably absorbed the flavour of the harissa better than the breast would

Leave a Reply

