Looking back on 2 years of blogging

It’s hard to believe, but two years ago today I created this blog! Since then I’ve learned a lot in the kitchen and had fun sharing what I make. In honour of that I’d thought I’d share some of my favourite posts/meals from the past two years, spanning three different kitchens in three countries. They stand out for various reasons but a lot of them have a particular non-food memory attached to them in addition to their gastronomic delight.

1. Blackberry buttermilk cake – The picture in the header and the first thing that popped into my mind when I thought about putting this list together. H. and I made this together and had such fun doing it. We still rave about this cake, which is mixed in with nostalgia of summers in Sandy Cove: picking fresh berries and baking with them only a few hours later!

2. Baked ziti – This is memborable because it is something I tried to recreate after a fantastic meal in Rome. It was also our first time trying to make homemade pasta – with admirable but rather poor results!

3. Goat cheese twists – A definite crowd-pleaser (goat cheese + pastry, you can’t go wrong), easier to make than they look (presentation factor), and a great summer memory from 2012!

4. Senegalese peanut soup – The only soup to make it on the list (and there have been a lot of soups!). I just made this again last night and it never fails to impress.

5. Ottolenghi’s sweet potato gratin – The ultimate form of sweet potato indulgence, and by far one of my favourites for its simplicity (not to mention “why didn’t I think of that” factor).

6. Amazing chicken and tomato curry – One of the newer items on the list. This dish impressed both of us right from the first time I made it, and it’s now become a staple in our house.

7. Red wine risotto with marscapone – I remember thinking “this is restaurant quality” when I tasted it for the first time! So simple, but it’s also an indulgent one.

8. Chicken satays in peanut sauce – One of the many Thai dishes I’ve made over the past 2 years, and always a crowd favourite. Perfect for a summer BBQ.

9. Cauliflower fritters with lime yogurt – Another Ottolenghi recipe that bowled me over. The best way I’ve eaten cauliflower yet.

10. Sundried tomato stuffed mushrooms – I’ve made these for several parties and they are always gobbled up quickly. They can be made vegan as well so is a versatile dish.

Finally, thank you to my readers for reading and for sharing your comments over the past two years! 🙂

collage 2 yrs

Leave a Reply

