Let them eat soup!

Cauliflower is in season at the moment in the UK and there is tons of it around. If I ignore the bland steamed cauliflower of my childhood, it is a wonderfully adaptable and delicious vegetable! I made this soup for a weekday lunch after seeing it on M.’s blog. While I can’t say it was one of my favourite soups ever, I did like it and we ate it for lunch two days in a row. Upon first tasting, I found it a little bland. This could be because I added too much water or that my curry powder was just not right. With the addition of a little Thai curry paste and its taste improved! With the coconut milk it’s a variation on creamed cauliflower soups (see my favourite one here), so something different to try!

Curried cauliflower soup (bowl is new from Portugal!) Curried cauliflower soup (bowl is new from Portugal!)

Un Assaggio of food, wine, & marriage

When it is -40 outside it is all about comfort eating. In my opinion there is nothing more  comforting than a steamy bowl of mac and cheese soup (healthy eating people!). The past few months I have been loving cauliflower, which is new for me. As a child I decided I did like vegetables that looked like trees – no judgement please. Sadly this aversion to trees has stuck into adulthood.. broccoli, asparagus tips need not apply I was not interested… Until cauliflower won me over. It is a wonderful versatile veggie! I’ve experimented with cauliflower quite a bit these last few months, but my favorite is soup.  I came across a recipe for Curried Cauliflower Soup that sounded too good to pass up.  Enter the deep freeze that has been plaguing my fair city these past few days and it seemed like a good time to give this healthy…

View original post 267 more words

Leave a Reply

