Sunday Pork Roast

The Sunday roast is a great British tradition. Pubs are usually packed on Sunday afternoons, filled with people indulging in some form of roasted meat and veg. With my dad recently visiting, I thought I would try my hand at making my own. I did this with some trepidation as, as I’ve said before, roasts are not my forte and aren’t really in my comfort zone.

I got the inspiration from an episode of the recent BBC series Food and Drink. The first episode featured Michel Roux Jr. and Tom Kerridge making their perfect pork roast (clip available here for those in the UK). I decided to test their method and follow it exactly.

We bought a 700g pork loin, with crackling, which was all the butcher had (note: will use different butcher next time), although it ended up being enough. As per Roux’s instructions, I ladled boiling water over the crackling at the beginning in order to shrink it. After seasoning, the meat is roasted for about ten minutes on high heat (210C), and then around 160C until done (mine was in for about 30 minutes. Parts were still pink and it was tender). Before resting the meat, Roux recommends taking off the crackling and putting it back in the oven for about 10 minutes. I did so, but was still not pleased with the result. In my previous attempt, the crackling was too hard, and it was this time too. I do not know where I am going wrong or if that is normal. It was certainly too hard for us to enjoy.

After some last-minute texting with M., I threw together a gravy, which turned out surprisingly well.

The roasted veggies (potatoes, carrots, cauliflower) were done to perfection I have to say. I did the potatoes Roux’s way: boiling, drying, sealing(?)/frying, and then roasting. I added garlic cloves to the mix of veg and they really did come out very well.

The only way to get better at something is to practice, so I will just have to start making more roasts. Next up will be Easter. ๐Ÿ™‚

Roasted vegetables and crackling. Not pictured: pork loin.
Roasted vegetables and crackling. Not pictured: pork loin.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Pork Roast

  1. Lin Box 01/12/2013 / 10:14 am

    Hi, thanks for your blog, I made the mistake of putting the seasoning on the skin as well as the flesh,,, but re-reading the recipe it says only to season the flesh, this made much better crackling, but I still haven’t perfected it yet – but I’ll keep trying !!

    • K.M. 01/12/2013 / 1:13 pm

      It’s tricky! My crackling went wrong too. I think the best thing is to experiment as much as you can, and find out what works for you. Thanks for the comment! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

