Carrot Loaf

Last Saturday, in ‘celebration’ of me finishing a large chunk of work, H. and I had lunch out – rare – at a local cafe, and when we got home I was in a baking mood. I’d had my eye on this carrot cake for a while. The recipe comes from London Bakes, a blog that I had followed for a over a year but not got round to making anything from yet.

When I was a child I abhorred carrot cake. My mum has always liked it and I couldn’t understand why anyone would! On the rare occasions I tried it, I thought it tasted like sweet, slightly vegetable-ly cardboard. But now that I am older and wiser ;), carrot cake really appeals to me.

This one could not be easier. Shredding the carrots is the hardest part as the rest is the classic method of assembling dry and wet ingredients and then combining. The only part that went slightly wrong was that I overcooked it just a tad. The recipe said 50 minutes, and I had it in for about 45, which was 3-5 minutes too long.

I’ve called it a loaf and not a cake because as my sister pointed out to me, it can’t really be a cake without frosting (debate?). I didn’t make the frosting for two reasons: 1) I don’t like cream cheese and 2) I thought the cake would be moist enough without, which it was. If you want, you can also use a bit of cream if you find it too dry, but I honestly didn’t.

This was an absolute winner in my books and is definitely something I will be making again. Plus, it has no sugar and uses wholewheat flour, both bonuses!

carrot loaf

4 thoughts on “Carrot Loaf

  1. Karin 12/04/2013 / 10:08 am

    I wanted to make a carrot cake this weekend anyway – so might give this a try 🙂 We love frosting round here so I guess there will be some, and maybe walnuts, too which I always love in carrot cake…we’ll see!! 😀

    • K.M. 12/04/2013 / 3:54 pm

      Do give it a go! It is sooo yummy, quick to whip up, and healthy too! Plus of course you can add the frosting too 🙂

  2. Karin 16/04/2013 / 9:07 pm

    Didn’t get to make it…but made Tafelspitz with all kit and kaboodle 😀

  3. Karin 21/04/2013 / 4:19 pm

    Trying it now! Added some walnuts too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

