Chives’ Buttermilk Biscuits

Last weekend, my sister (C.) and her boyfriend came to London for Easter. The 4 of us had a great Sunday complete with a walk in the park, a visit to our favourite pub, and a delicious meal! Along with the biscuits in this post, I served orange and mustard pork tenderloin (my go-to pork dish – it never disappoints) with mashed potatoes and roasted carrots and cauliflower. We tried a new butcher this time and with 1.7kg of pork it lasted us a while! C. made a dark chocolate and ginger tart for dessert which was very rich but tasty.

I wanted to serve something to go along with the veggies and decided on fantastic Halifax restaurant Chives’ famous biscuits, from my Fresh and Local cookbook. Chives has been serving them every night since they opened and the biscuits have been on my ‘to make’ list for a while.

I halved the recipe; since my sister cannot eat dairy, there would be 3 of us eating them with some left over. It made about 8 large biscuits. One of the difficult things about preparing meals like this is that our oven is ridiculously old and only has one rack, which makes timing a real challenge (one of the reasons I mashed the potatoes). I ended up roasting the veggies first, then the meat, and while the meat rested, the biscuits went in. Finally I ‘zapped’ the veggies again to warm them up. As I threw the biscuit dough together, I managed to make quite a large error by mixing up the amounts for salt and baking powder! Luckily I noticed it before I stirred the dry ingredients together so managed to get most of the salt out although they were still a little on the salty side. At just 12-15 minutes’ baking time, these biscuits are very easy to make and went down a treat.

I did not manage to grab a photo of all of the biscuits but here is (a not very good) one of my plate.

Biscuit on lefthand side
A dark and grainy photo: biscuit is on the left-hand side!
2 thoughts on “Chives’ Buttermilk Biscuits

  1. faizas7 05/04/2013 / 6:08 pm

    I’ve never thought of making biscuits with steak but it seems like the perfect combination! I just got buttermilk from the Sainsbury’s and had no idea what to do with it so I think I’ll be trying this! Great post!

    • K.M. 06/04/2013 / 9:54 am

      It worked well with the pork, mashed potatoes, & veggies. But these are also delicious on their own. Hope you enjoy them!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

