Chickpeas & Spinach with Honeyed Sweet Potato

This dish, (another) from Ottolenghi the cookbook, looked like an ideal one for me as it combines two of my favourite foods, sweet potatoes and chickpeas.

It is a two-step process. The first step is boiling the sweet potatoes in honey, water, butter, and a pinch of salt. While that is happening, the ‘base’ is made, which is composed of canned tomatoes, chickpeas, cumin, coriander, tomato puree, and sugar, with the spinach added in at the end along with the potatoes on top.

The dish is served with a mint, garlic, and lemon yogurt. I did not have any dried mint on hand, so skipped that but otherwise made the yogurt as directed.

Although this was a tasty meal, I will probably not make it again for the following reasons. As regular readers will know, I love sweet potatoes. The way they were prepared in this dish though was a bit of a miss for me. I halved the amount of honey that Ottolenghi suggests, thinking to myself that they don’t need to be any sweeter than they already are. For my tastebuds, I was right, I just don’t think the honey is necessary – the potatoes are sweet enough on their own. Secondly, (my fault) I didn’t boil them long enough. They needed to be in for 5-10 more minutes to be super soft. I also prefer the texture of roasted sweet potatoes so if making this again on its own, I would do that. Also, I am not a huge fan of cooked spinach; I much prefer it raw. Ultimately though, I prefer the combination in this sweet potato & chickpea curry, which also uses spinach but has a creamy peanut butter/coconut milk base instead.

swpt and chickpea

Leave a Reply

