Dark Chocolate Brownies with Goat Cheese & Raspberry Swirl

If that sounds like a mouthful, it is! My lovely boyfriend recently celebrated his 29th birthday and I made these for him. 🙂 I found the recipe in the Guardian’s weekly Cook section which I am beginning to like more with each passing week.

No, the berries are not local/in season, but I made an exception and also managed to find them at my local fruiterers (such a British word!) so at least I did not give my money to a chain.

As I read through the ingredient list right before making them, I realized I’d forgotten to get cream cheese. Based on this I decided to modify the topping: I halved the ingredients, added a bit of plain Greek yogurt, and tried to spread it only on half of the brownies in case it failed (as you can see from the picture, that didn’t really work). I was a bit nervous, but surprisingly everything turned out well.

The brownies were definitely a hit — even for me, and I do not have a sweet tooth! They’re not too difficult to make, look impressive, and are a rich, luxurious occasional treat, perfect for a birthday.

 

YUM
YUM
Leave a Reply

