Chili Pork Parcels with Vegetarian Fried Rice – my 200th post!

Happy May, which just happens to be one of my favourite months of the year! London has been having some lovely warm weather recently and it finally feels and looks like spring.

I’m starting off this month with a rather challenging (for me) meal I attempted few weeks ago (I’m behind). Every once in a while I attempt an ambitious recipe that almost doesn’t work out. This was definitely one of them. There can be a fine line between a challenge and stress-inducing – when things go wrong, it’s not fun anymore! All of these evenings share a pattern: they start well, then I usually lose confidence around the most crucial part (the filling and shaping of the parcels in this case), H. steps in to assist, and things end up turning out alright in the end.

The start of these nights usually begin with a hunt for ingredients that go beyond the scope of my normal food-buying habits, in this case a visit to Loon Fung, Chinatown’s mecca for Asian ingredients. The recipe for the pork parcels comes from Donna Hay’s slightly buggy website (the link seems to work sometimes and others not). I couldn’t find the chili jam so instead used chili-garlic sauce which worked just as well (might even be the same thing?). I cooked the base of ground pork and vermicelli, and all went well until I tried to assemble the parcels – they did not want to stick together. I think in hindsight that I used the wrong type of wrapper – when I made the spring rolls, this did not happen.

To go with the parcels I made fried rice from my Simply Thai Cooking, which is essentially white rice, cooked veggies (I used cauliflower, carrots, & mushrooms), 2 eggs, along with black pepper, garlic & soya sauce, and a generous topping of everyone’s my favourite herb, fresh coriander. It was delicious and the perfect side.

Aside from problems with the filling, this was a successful and tasty meal, if a little labourious and finicky. We had leftover filling and rice and H. ate them on their own for lunch the next day.

yuuhbjhv
They don’t look like much, but they were tasty!
2 thoughts on “Chili Pork Parcels with Vegetarian Fried Rice – my 200th post!

  1. ostriche 07/05/2013 / 8:11 pm

    Lovely 200th post! Ostriche

    • K.M. 09/05/2013 / 7:49 am

      Thanks for your kind words!

Leave a Reply

