Thai Satay Rice Bowl

I’m not quite sure why I haven’t been posting as much lately. It’s not that I haven’t been cooking, but I seem to be in a bit of a rut when it comes to my posts. After 200 of them I guess I’m starting to feel that I’m repeating myself a bit. Just looking in my drafts I have 4 or 5 posts in the works and they are all quite similar! Anyway, as long as I get enjoyment out of this blog, I’m going to keep sharing.

This is such a brilliant, easy, and healthy meal and one of those where you think to yourself, “why didn’t I think of this before?”

The best thing about the rice bowl is its versatility – you can throw in pretty much anything. I used chicken, cucumber, red pepper, carrots, and green onions. It would work well with beef or tofu too as well as a myriad of other veggies. I love brown rice and would choose it over white any day, but white would also work well. I modified the sauce slightly and used coconut milk (rather than half coconut milk/half stock), peanut butter, lime leaves (or juice), fish sauce, and red curry paste rather than powder.

This is a winner for me: delicious, fairly quick to throw together, and can also be eaten cold or warm as leftovers for the next day.

Without sauce & chopped coriander
Without sauce & chopped coriander
Leave a Reply

