Tuna Fishcakes

A good fishcake (or crabcake) is one of my favourite things to eat. If they’re on a menu, I’ll usually choose them every time. I don’t make them that often here though because we tend not to buy a lot of fresh fish, and when we do, we’re more likely to eat it on its own. I was therefore intrigued to see this recipe with tuna in an older issue of Marks & Spencer’s magazine. I nearly always have a can of tuna in the cupboard, and it seemed like a different way to approach fishcakes, so thought I’d give it a go.

Here’s the recipe:

  1. Mix together 4 chopped spring onions, the zest of 1 lemon, and 1 can (drained) of tuna in spring water in a bowl. Add mashed potato (I used 2 large ones – recipe calls for a 450g pack of their pre-mashed – it is M&S after all! – but I boiled & mashed my own).
  2. Divide the mixture and shape into approximately 8 cakes. Dust each one in flour, dip into a beaten egg, and then coat in breadcrumbs
  3. Heat 2 tbsp sunflower oil in a pan and fry the cakes in batches.

We had the cakes with a generous dose of lemon, coriander & lemon yogurt, and a salad. They were filling – with the potato in the cakes you don’t need any additional carbs (in my opinion). They were also really tasty – they don’t replace fresh fishcakes, but they are a good backup to have in your repertoire.

Fishcakes

2 thoughts on “Tuna Fishcakes

Leave a Reply

