Chocolate Pecan Cookies (Gluten-Free)

I do not have much experience cooking for food intolerances/allergies, other than occasionally for my sister, who is dairy-free. Spending time with family this summer was a bit more challenging (in a good way!) as we had my sister plus one vegan (P.) and one gluten-free (L.). With my family party dessert task (see chocolate cake with zucchini) I wanted something that L. could eat too – P. in general does not eat desserts. So, at the last minute I decided to make these cookies (sidenote: I have to give a shout-out and thanks to the ever-patient H. for finding this recipe and helping me with both dishes and …it was a bit of a hectic day! :)).

I cut the recipe in half to only make 6 cookies. We didn’t have too many pecans left and with the closest grocery store a half hour drive we went with what we had. The recipe could not be simpler to make. *Note: as regular readers will know I often cut the sugar in sweet recipes and I did in this one too. 1.5 cups of sugar for 6 cookies seemed very excessive! I cannot remember exactly but I think I used somewhere around 3/4 of a cup.

In everything but appearance I am sure these cookies could fool. They do look a little chunky and shiny! Most importantly they were very tasty and gobbled up by L. and others. 🙂

My challenge next summer will be to find a good gluten-free and vegan-friendly dessert.

Both desserts - photo quality not great, sorry!
Both desserts – photo quality not great, sorry!
Leave a Reply

