Sweet Potato, Ginger, & Chocolate Muffins

First of all, happy October! Today marks 1 year of PhD completion (2 to go), and a host of new changes in my academic life as well.

When I saw these muffins on London Bakes, I was very intrigued. This is a recipe that was adapted by Kathryn from Gwyneth Paltrow’s It’s All Good, which if any of you are goop subscribers you’ll know is (probably – I haven’t seen it!) full of very healthy yet tasty stuff. I love sweet potatoes and knew they could be used in baking but had never tried it before.

I went on a half-hearted hunt for kamut flour before researching and substituting it straight out for plain. Ginger isn’t my favourite (I am always trying to eat more) but it is wonderful in these muffins. I used fresh which I think works best in this as you get a real zing when you bite into a bit with ginger in it.

These are healthier muffins without compromising on taste. Their sweetness comes from the sweet potato and honey; there is no added sugar. I made these while H. was out and he guessed pretty much every fruit under the sun before I told him what they were made of! You can definitely taste their added sweetness. My only complaint is that they turned out quite dense – I guess not surprising when you use flour and sweet potato. It also could be to do with the fact that I used plain flour.

sept13 115

One thought on “Sweet Potato, Ginger, & Chocolate Muffins

  1. MC2 01/10/2013 / 11:46 pm

    Very interesting! Much like H. I would never guess sweet potato in a chocolate muffin!!!

Leave a Reply

