Cider-Braised Chicken

Introducing…..a delightfully tasty moreish chicken dish containing tomatoes, cream, and (alcoholic) cider. What could be better?!

I first saw this recipe in the 2013 Taste of Nova Scotia guide (loyal readers will know I look forward its publication each year). It is a delicious one from Chef Bryan Picard, who works in Cape Breton, and is the author of one of my favourite Canadian cooking blogs.

There are surprisingly few ingredients for such a delicious end product. I followed the recipe very closely, with a couple of small modifications: we used thighs and drumsticks instead of a whole chicken, and I used about half a can of canned tomatoes (~200ml), which may have been slightly too much, but produced lots of sauce!

This was a very pleasing recipe that I would encourage everyone to try (my dad’s already requested when I am home in December). We had it with sweet potato fries and a spinach salad as you can see below. Apologies for the messy plate!

october13 298

Leave a Reply

