My 250th Post! Baked Figs with Goat Cheese & Honey

As you can see in the title, this is post #250! 🙂 I have to thank all of my readers for sticking with me over the past two and a half years!

I am rather behind with my updates. Life is getting in the way. I told myself I’d never apologize for not posting or posting late, so I’m not going to. I was in Belgium all of this past week for two (related) academic conferences. It was a very stimulating but exhausting week, and has left me in a strange post-conference mix of fatigued inspiration combined with panic because I am of course now behind on my regular work.

Onto the subject of this post, which starts with a confession: I am an extremely new convert to fresh figs. Even a couple of months ago I would have probably shied away from them. However, I now think they’re great!

I was inspired to create this simple dessert after having a similar one made with cream cheese while visiting family earlier this fall in Derbyshire. Here’s what to do:

  1. Gently cut a X pattern into the top of the figs. Place them on a tray and roast for 10-12 minutes at roughly 200 degrees.
  2. Meanwhile prepare the yogurt/cheese mixture. Since there were just 2 of us (4 figs), I used about 1.5 tbsp Greek yogurt, 1 tbsp goat cheese, and a drop of honey. These measurements can of course be adjusted to personal preference.
  3. Once the figs are juicy, take them out of the oven and spoon the yogurt mixtures onto each one. Enjoy!

No photo this time, sorry!

Leave a Reply

