‘Zesty’ Glazed Pork Medallions with Red Rice Salad

One of my favourite Christmas gifts this year was this new cookbook I received from my parents. I have long been a fan of Lucy Waverman whose hummus recipe was the very first proper recipe I ever made. The book is organized in what I think is a really unique approach with 11 chapters that each focus on one particular ‘flavour’ – smoky, sweet, nutty, creamy, etc. Plus, the co-author, G&M drinks columnist Beppi Crosariol, provides drink recommendations for each meal.

The was the first meal I made out of the book — from the tart section –and I was really pleased with the result, even though I overcooked the pork.

To make the dish, you first prepare the medallions by seasoning on both sides and then rubbing them in a mixture of ground cinnamon and coriander. Although very tasty, I found the texture of the rub a bit off even when the pork was cooked – sort of a powdery, dry feeling. To cook the pork, it’s simply seared and then roasted for 5-8 minutes on either side (note: this is where I lost track of time and they ended up staying in too long). As this is happening, you make the glaze by combining 1/2 cup wine, 1/4 cup sherry vinegar (I used red wine vinegar), 1 tsp honey, & 1 cup chicken stock, and boiling it off.

The red rice salad is composed of cucumber, pine nuts, green onions, dill, and parsley (also olives, which I left out), topped with a bit of goats cheese and a simple dressing of oil, red wine vinegar, salt, and pepper.

I thought this meal was perfect other than aforementioned overcooked meat. I can’t stand overdone pork and so was unhappy with myself, but even with that error this meal was still really enjoyable. A successful first attempt from what I am sure is going to become one of my favourite cookbooks.

Jan14 624

Leave a Reply

