Thai Cashew & Quinoa Salad

I have no idea when I came across this recipe, other than it was quite recently as it’s saved on my desktop. I can’t remember the source either; it only has theambitiouskitchen.com listed underneath (which comes up as a broken link for me). Anyway, the point is that I don’t quite know where or when I found this, but it is delicious. Quinoa in a Thai dish? It does sound a little odd, but it works! I’m calling it more of a quinoa salad with Thai-inspired flavours. It’s vegetarian (can also can be made vegan), and it’s very healthy.

I made this one evening for supper and then the same night made more for lunch the next day. That is how much we loved it. This is my version, adapted from “Crunch Cashew Thai Quinoa Salad” from the unknown theambitiouskitchen.com.

  1. Rinse & cook quinoa according to package instructions. Leave to cool.
  2. Make dressing: mix together 1/4 cup peanut butter, 1 tbsp agave nectar (or honey), 2 tsp grated fresh ginger, 3 tbsp soy sauce, 1 tbsp red wine vinegar, 1 tsp sesame oil, & 1 tsp olive oil (for a thinner dressing, include a bit of water).
  3. Mix dressing into quinoa and fold in 1 can rinsed & drained chickpeas, 1 chopped red pepper, a bit of onion as desired, 2 shredded carrots, and a good handful of fresh cilantro into the mixture. Garnish with roasted cashews and green onions, and a generous squeeze of lime (Note: I like a lot of acid in my food, so I used tons of lime juice as I found it really needed it. H. doesn’t like as much so a little drizzle was fine for him – adjust as necessary).

Jan14 631

Leave a Reply

