Apple, Carrot, & Oat Muffins

A couple of years ago, my good friend D. gave me this cookbook as a birthday present. The book features tons of yummy dishes from the Fresh Track Cafe which is a mountaintop cafe at Whitewater Ski Resort in Nelson, BC. (Sidenote I just love how my last 3 posts have been about cookbooks given to me as gifts, and 2 of them Canadian!). I have cooked a few things from it before but I don’t think I’ve shared anything from it on the blog yet. Time to remedy that now.

A couple of weeks ago I was looking for the perfect breakfast muffin. H. and I were headed to Scotland for the weekend to visit family and our train was at 7am. After a quick hunt through my cookbooks I decided to try these muffins. They are a true breakfast muffin in that they’re very healthy — none of this sickly sweet Starbucks rubbish. They have no refined sugar (the slight sweetness comes from a bit of honey and shredded apple), and there is also Greek yogurt to prevent them from becoming too dry. Although just slightly overdone, the muffins were perfect for exactly what I wanted them for, which wasn’t for a sugar rush but a staple breakfast item. 🙂

 

Mixing in the apple + carrot.
Mixing in the apple + carrot.
Finished muffins.
Finished muffins.
Leave a Reply

