Spiced Cauliflower Fritters & Green Onion Chickpea Curry

My posts are so mixed up now, I can’t even remember when I made this. Sometime in early March, I think. The meal was inspired by the recipe for the fritters, found in my March delicious magazine. And yes, I’m fully aware that I’m using both metric and imperial systems. Sorry!

Fritters: I love fritters, cauliflower, and most things Indian so when I saw the recipe I knew it would be a winner. I can’t find the recipe online so will repost here:

  1. Boil a whole cauliflower head in water for 5-7 minutes, until just tender, flipping once to ensure the whole thing cooks. My tip:  place on a slightly dampened towel or paper towel to avoid the cauliflower drying off too much.
  2. Meanwhile, dry toast the following spices in a pan: 1/2 tsp chili flakes, 1/2 tsp fenugreek seeds, & 1/4 tsp each coriander, cumin, & turmeric.
  3. Warm 300ml whole milk in a saucepan and then dissolve 3g (“scant teaspoon”) of yeast into it. *Don’t heat the milk beyond lukewarm otherwise it may kill the yeast.
  4. Put 200g strong bread flour into a mixing bowl and season. Then add the spices from step 2, along with the milk/yeast mixture, stirring the latter in slowly and mixing as you go. When it’s all combined together, set aside for 20 minutes.
  5. Next, the frying: we did this without a thermometer, but it says to heat oil to 170°C. To prepare the fritters, break the head of cauliflower into florets, dust them in plain flour, and stir into the batter. To form the individual fritters I simply spooned the batter out in chunks using a teaspoon and them dropped into the oil.
  6. I made the chili and coriander salsa that was suggested in the recipe, but found it way too acidic, so quickly whipped up some Greek yogurt with chopped coriander.

By the way, I think we’ve finally nailed deep-frying. Turns out it’s all about the pan! We used an enamel one which can take much more heat and it was perfect – the fritters were done really quickly.

Fritters
Blurry fritters

Curry: The curry is quite similar to a veggie version of this, with the addition of of quite a few green onions. The recipe is from Vij’s & I’ve modified it below for 2 people as opposed to the original 4.

  1. Heat 1/4 cup of rapeseed/canola oil and toast 1/2 tsbp cumin seeds, allowing them to sizzle for about 30 seconds. Then add 1/2 a large onion and saute 8-10 minutes.
  2. From there, stir in tomatoes. The recipe recommends 1 medium, but I used canned because I like a bit more sauce. In addition, stir in 3/4 tsp salt, 2.5 tbsp chopped ginger, 2 tbsp chopped jalapenos (or more/less as desired). Let this combination simmer for 5-8 minutes.
  3. Then add in 1.5-2 cans chickpeas and 1/2 cup coconut milk and let that simmer for a further 5 minutes or so. Just before serving, add in the green onion. The recipe says 3.5 oz (100g). I didn’t use that much, so amend as desired. Enjoy 🙂
Blurry curry
Blurry curry
Leave a Reply

