Cilantro Hummus and Wild Garlic & Pumpkin Seed Pesto

For my first post back in my own kitchen (happy sigh! 🙂 ), I’m combining two easy (with a food processor) dips, pastes green stuffs. Although I/we have made pesto quite a few times before, a quick search shows that oddly I’ve never featured it on the blog, other than in my introduction to our then-new machine. The main thing to remember about both of these recipes is that they are VERY adaptable. In fact my measurements are not very precise and quite Jamie Oliver-sounding for a reason — they can be modified any which way to suit tastes.

Cilantro Hummus
In a food processor, combine the following:
-2 cans of chickpeas (rinsed)
-1 or 2 garlic cloves
-cilantro: I used roughly 40g, but add more/less as desired
-(optional) a couple of leaves of spinach, for added greenness 😉
-A glug of olive oil
-Large squeeze of lemon or lime juice, to taste
-Salt & pepper, to taste

Tip: to achieve a creamier hummus, simply add a bit of water.

 

Wild Garlic & Pumpkin Seed Pesto
At the market on Saturday I saw some wild garlic and had to buy it. I used it in a few random things but saved most of it for this pesto which is very delicious (if I do say so myself). To make it:

1. Combine the following into a food processor and blend until fairly chopped up:
-Pumpkin seeds – we used roughly 70-80g (amend as needed)
-Large bunch of wild garlic
-Salt & pepper to taste
-A glug of olive oil
2. Once combined, grate in desired amount of Parmesan cheese and then blast once more to mix it in with the rest.

Wild garlic & pumpkin seed pesto
Wild garlic & pumpkin seed pesto
Leave a Reply

