My “Best of Brussels”

As some of you are aware, I recently spent 5 weeks in Brussels (April + this past week). The city has a reputation for being a bit boring, and I’m happy to say that while I may have thought that based on previous visits, spending more time here has made me change my views. In this post I’m going to share some of my favourite things to do/see/eat. Most of these recommendations I got from blogs, such as S Marks the Spot, Best of Brussels, & whyaminotskinny.

◌ The Wednesday market at Place du Chatelain (2-7pm) is a great place to stock up on fruit and veg and have a sneaky glass of wine or 2. On a sunny day I don’t think you could find a better spot. The whole area around there is really nice as well. (No7 Ristorante Italiano is where I took H. for his birthday dinner when he came to visit).

◌ For a rooftop cocktail with a view, try the restaurant at the Museum of Musical Instruments.

◌ Eating in Ixelles: for ramen, Umamido was a good find (although it doesn’t beat Shoryu). If you’re in the mood for burgers, Les super filles du Tram is a must. Don’t go for the service though!

◌ Place Jourdan, close to many EU buildings where I spent a lot of time, is (minus the car park in the centre – seems to be a Belgian thing) worth exploring. Get a latte to go from OR Coffee Roasters and spend some time in nearby Parc Leopold. Or, for a different type of drink, head to 13º wine bar.

 Piola Libri on rue Franklin is an Italian cafe/wine bar/bookshop – all of my favourite things rolled into one.

◌ Le Petit Canon is a cute wine bar a stone’s throw away from both Avenue Louise & Place de Flagey.

◌ A jaunt around les Sablons is interesting as well.

◌ Finally, if you’re in Brussels for a longer time, or fancy a one-off yoga class, I loved my classes (in English) at Serendip Spa. Thoroughly recommended.

Square Marie-Louise
Square Marie-Louise
Leave a Reply

