June 2014 Favourites

First and foremost, Happy Canada Day to Canadians – wherever you may be in the world – and to those who love Canada. 🙂

I didn’t get a chance to do a favourites post in May, but hopefully something on this list makes up for it! As we slide into summer, I feel like I am busier than ever. June was an incredibly full but fulfilling month. I spent a week in Italy at an intense summer school, and on the day I got back started working part-time (as a researcher). I’ve now done 2 weeks of FT PhD/PT working and I don’t know whether I’m coming or going but I’m learning new things every day and earning money, so it can’t be too bad can it?

◌ I can’t start off a June “favourites” without saying something about the football World Cup. It has been, in a word, incredible! With the quarter-finals, Wimbledon, and the Tour de France coming up this weekend, we are completely spoiled by sport at the moment (H. & I will be watching from north Yorkshire!).

◌ This is a lesson I often need reminding of.

◌ I adore this story about Newfoundland’s Fogo Island (the rest of the site is worth exploring too).

Balsamic strawberry margaritas, anyone?

This list has been making the rounds, but I can identify with several!

Eat your way around World Cup team restaurants in London.

Asian-inspired summer soups from Bill Granger.

◌ I haven’t been reading as much as I would like to lately, but I do have two (very different) recommendations: The Monster of Florence and Where’d You Go, Bernadette? 

◌ Jerry Seinfeld + Sarah Jessica Parker – can’t deny I enjoyed this episode of Comedians in Cars!

 

Padova 030
Learning about institutions and policy change in Venezia!

Leave a Reply

