Salads for Summer

London has recently decided that it was missing out on summer; we’ve now had about 2 weeks of very hot temperatures (mostly sunny, but with a few massive summer storms). So, like last year, I am doing a wee roundup of new (to me), interesting salads that are good for hot weather.

Carrot, Couscous, & Chickpea Salad with Tahini Dressing {recipe}
I made this quite a while ago now – my version featuring the addition of couscous and cilantro (of course) and without the pistachios. The 3 Cs make a great combination — tasty, filling, healthy, and little effort required. *Note: to make this no-cook, simply use chickpeas from a can, or soak overnight. I like the roasting though because it adds a bit of a bite.

summerrolls 026


Roasted Carrot, Avocado & Citrus Salad
 {recipe}
I’m contradicting myself a bit with this salad because it does involve turning the oven on and roasting carrots (of course better done on a BBQ if you are fortunate enough to have a yard one!). This salad might look a bit tedious and intimidating, as there are quite a few ingredients, but I promise it will be worth it! The recipe is Tim from Lottie + Doof’s take on one served at the Pump Room at Chicago’s Public Hotel. He calls it “the salad of our generation.” I don’t know about that, but the mix is delectable and the effort worth it.

summer eating 036 summer eating 037

 

Grilled Corn Salad with Mint, Cilantro, & Feta {recipe}
This Lebanese salad is surprisingly filling, and perfect either on its own or as a side for a BBQ or summer potluck. In my version, I omitted the red onion and added a healthy dose of fresh cilantro leaves. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to grill my corn, but it was still good without. This dish is so tasty (if, like me, you love corn 😉 ), and ideal for hot weather!

summer eating 047

Leave a Reply

