Families and Food

Recently, I have been thinking a lot about family — likely because I’ve spent every day with them for the past five weeks, and my mum, who came back over to the UK with me, just left us today. My time with my family tends to be in short and intense bursts. I live thousands of miles away from my mum’s side, who I was closest to growing up, and although most of my dad’s side are in the UK, I’m only usually able to see them a couple of times a year.

Sandy Cove seems a world away now that we’re back in crazy London, but H. and I were lucky to spend a full two weeks there in August. For most of the time we were in the village, there was lots of family, both extended and immediate, around. And what better to do together than EAT! On this particular evening there were 7 of us: my father, grandfather, aunt, uncle, sister, H., and myself. I wanted to keep it very casual so we decided on a BBQ and several salads.

Snacks
Goat cheese dip and hummus with crackers

Main
BBQ meat
Garden salad (like, from a real garden!)
Roasted potato salad with pecan & mustard vinaigrette
Peanut slaw

Dessert
Raspberry pie (homemade, but not by me, I confess)

Now the commentary
The goat cheese dip was fairly underwhelming. Not bad, but didn’t wow by any means. Too bad. I’ve preached before about House & Home’s website but I might have to revise my statement a bit!

Onto the salads… it’s so funny to me that I am writing about cabbage and potato salad, neither of which I ate until I made this meal for years! I have never liked cabbage – I’d eat it if it was put in front of me, generally, but I’d never buy it or order it on a menu. I’ve also never liked traditional coleslaw which always seems to be doused in (too much) mayo. This is also the reason that I’ve stayed away from most potato salads. Mayo just does not appeal.

I am happy to report that I’m becoming a convert to cabbage and will not paint every potato salad with the same brush from now on.  The peanut slaw from the Bite House was just the thing I needed. I made it with cabbage from my uncle’s garden and it was lovely — the vinegar, peanuts, and (swoon) cilantro combine together perfectly. The same goes for the potato salad, which I modified to mustard-pecan due to an allergy. Everyone really enjoyed the salad and particularly the fact that the potatoes were roasted. I don’t think I’ll go back to just plain boiled!

If you do decide to prepare either, I would let them sit for as long as possible before serving. 🙂

peanut slaw

One thought on “Families and Food

  1. MC2 09/09/2014 / 6:35 pm

    I love the Bite House recipes! My one disappointment of being home was not making to their restaurant. Next summer for sure!!

Leave a Reply

