Eggplant & Zucchini Curry with Millet

(aka aubergine & courgette in the UK)

True to form, H. & I were hit with the back-to-school cold a couple of weeks ago. H. got it first and I made it 5 days before I caught it as well. I made this when we were both feeling pretty low and craving something spicy and comforting (the garlic, ginger, & turmeric were definitely welcome). When I saw this post on My Darling Lemon Thyme, it was perfect. I’d had a package of millet sitting around in the cupboard since the early summer, but never used it. This was my first time cooking and eating millet and I am definitely hooked — it has more flavour than couscous and quinoa and is quite nutty-tasting.

I made a couple of adjustments to the recipe. Instead of whole tomatoes, I used canned, draining some of the liquid so the mixture wouldn’t be too wet. I also added in a couple of small zucchinis and half a red pepper that I had lying around. All in all, this was an excellent meal, perfect for a warming fall weeknight dish as the days close in on us! I would really encourage you to try millet if you haven’t before — it is on its way to becoming a staple in our household.

 

Millet
Millet

Sept. cooking 045

3 thoughts on “Eggplant & Zucchini Curry with Millet

  1. deliciousdaydreams 05/10/2014 / 3:42 pm

    Sad to say, I’ve never tried millet. I’m a creature of habit. It looks so much like couscous in your photo, though, and quite appealing! And I know it’s so good for us. Hmmmm…well maybe I’ll give it a go. 😊

    • K.M. 06/10/2014 / 9:08 am

      Yes do try it! If you like couscous I really think you’ll like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

